I got this article through a link that was shared by a friend on Facebook (She’s the awesome girl that’s doing the cake for our wedding :D). I don’t normally read the material of this specific writer but I really love this article and there are two parts that reminded me of my mom:

5. “If you study hard and get good grades your success in life is assured.” Not necessarily. There are people who excel in an academic environment but flounder when they leave the confines of the university. Grades are important, but so is the ability to work with other people. You must be able to apply the knowledge you gleaned from books to real-life situations and environments. You must understand that people are complex organisms who do not behave like theoretical models. Get yourself some street smarts.

6. “He’s not right for you.” Listen to your mother. If she says this about the guy you are dating, she is probably right. It is called maternal instinct. That and the fact that half of your chromosomes are hers so you are more alike than you care to acknowledge. So consider Mom’s advice, but never let on that you ditched him because she said so. Show some resistance. You can’t have Mom taking over your life.

25 ‘truths’ we put through
EMOTIONAL WEATHER REPORT By Jessica Zafra

Here’s the linkage to the article, I highly suggest you read it: http://bit.ly/q9Ofgv

It was actually the 6th that got my attention first. Mom is never one to meddle with what I did with my life, she gave me advice she told me what she thought but she never told me what to do. I started this guy when I just got into college, he was full blown all black, long hair rocker kind of dude. I really liked the change I suppose after dating all clean dudes some that even liked a lot of hiphop which I found to be unbearable after a while. He was political, listened to heavy music, and very smart.

I introduced him to my mom and she was super nice to him, would leave him food for dinner sometimes. Talk to him a lot when he was around, she would of course mention that maybe he needed a haircut but that was pretty much it. I told her a lot about him, after a while she told me that he might not be the right one for me. I didn’t resist what she said, after all she was just telling me what she thought, it was my decision. In the end I decided to break up with him, not because of her, but because of the conclusions I came to.

As for the 5th on this article, I think I mentioned in the past entry that my mom was never one for grades. Even up until I started working she made it clear, not every graduate that has honors or is tre awesomesauce at school, some are horridsauce. So she didn’t expect me to get high grades, she just expected me to do my best and pass. It would be nice to get good grades and all but no pressure.

I love that I get to carry these things around with me after she’s gone, her little bits of advice have helped me go along way.

