Things she left behind

image

Giving mom letters and cards during special occassions became second nature to me when I was young. But as I grew up I gradually stopped, specially when I didn’t know it meant anything to her at all.

As I got closer to her in college I decided to thank her for all her sacrifices and guidance through letters and such. This was one of the things I made for her.

Initially glued together and attached to a corkboard, I left this little collage of mine on her dresser while she was sleeping. Next thing I knew she was having it framed and hung it by the stairs at our house.

Only now do I realize how painful it is to see all the things I have made and given her, left behind in her drawers and in her room. Strangely, I wish they disappeared along with her.

