Because songs are poems and a lot of poems are songs, I learned this when I wrote some of my own. Here are some that caught my attention:

Goodnight and Go – Imogen Heap

(A song for crushes)

Why’d ya have to be so cute? It’s impossible to ignore you..must you make me laugh so much? It’s bad enough we get along so well..


Paper Bag by Fiona Apple

(For the love that cannot be)

…hunger hurts but starving works when it costs too much to love…


Coffee and TV by Blur

(escape)

..take me away from this big bad world and agree to marry me…


Sucker by John Mayer

(despite all flaws :P)

Sometimes, I wish that I was the weather, you’d bring me up the conversation forever and when it rains…I’d be the talk of the day


Kun’ di man by The Jerks

(One of my favorite love songs EVAR!)

Kung di man magkatotoo ang pinapangarap ko sa iyo pa rin ang puso ko


Better Together by Jack Johnson

(Another one of the love songs I like, great imagery too!)

There’s no combination of words I could put on the back of a postcard, no song that I could sing, but I can try for your heart. Our dreams, and they are made out of real things, like a shoebox of photographs with sepiatone loving


The Space Between by Dave Matthews Band

(It’s all about hard work)

The space between the tears we cry is the laughter keeps us coming back for more

We’re strange allies with warring hearts…


**I’m supposed to be posting just a few lines but when it comes to these songs I just can’t**

When I’m Thinking About You by The Sundays

(Another song for crushes, imagery gallore….)
over the rooftops a plane in the sky
beat of a bass drum cars passing me by
under a bridge dark then back into light
a river of raincoats and a forest of faces
still for a moment then red into green
slow shuffling shoes whisper sight unseen
row upon row of houses return an empty stare
let the daydream for a little while longer

ah.. yeah…
hope I’ll never wake
when I’m thinking about you
(yeah) hope I’ll never wake
cos now I’m thinking about you

two-minute hailstorm then melts into rain
(oh) sing me a rainbow it’s sunny again
swallows overhead while the traffic snarls below
could I (could I) keep dreaming for a little while longer

hope I’ll never wake
when I’m thinking about you
so that you know – I never want to wake
cos now I’m thinking about you

when you’re searching your soul
when you’re searching for pleasure
how often, pain is all you find
but when you’re coasting along and nobody’s trying too hard
you can turn around and like where you are

(Yeah and) I hope I never wake
when I’m thinking about you
and I close my eyes (dear)
now I’ll never never wake
why should I stop thinking about you


Wish You were Here by Pink Floyd

(</3)
So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell,
blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?
And did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange a walk on part in the war for a lead role in a cage?
How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We're just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have we found? The same old fears.
Wish you were here.

